The Council’s Principals are the parliamentary leaders of the four major political parties in the Federal Parliament. The Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition each nominate two Council Members, and the Leaders of the National Party and the Australian Greens each nominate one Council Member. The Prime Minister also nominates an independent Chair.

The Principals are:

  • The Hon Anthony Albanese MP, Prime Minister and Leader of the Australian Labor Party
  • The Hon Peter Dutton MP, Leader of the Opposition and Leader of the Liberal Party of Australia
  • The Hon David Littleproud MP, Leader of The Nationals
  • Mr Adam Bandt MP, Leader of the Australian Greens


The Council’s Patrons are the Presiding Officers of the Federal Parliament.

  • Senator the Hon Sue Lines, President of the Senate
  • The Hon Milton Dick MP, Speaker of the House of Representatives


The Special Minister of State, Senator the Hon Don Farrell, has portfolio responsibility for the Council’s political exchange program.

Council Membership


The Hon Dr Craig Emerson 2024

The Hon Dr Craig Emerson
Appointed November 2022


The Hon Justine Elliot MP 2024

The Hon Justine Elliot MP
Member for Richmond
Australian Labor Party
Appointed August 2019

Senator Slade Brockman 2024

Senator Slade Brockman
Senator for Western Australia
Liberal Party of Australia 
Appointed August 2022

The Hon Mark Coulton MP 2024

The Hon Mark Coulton MP
Member for Parkes 
The Nationals
Appointed September 2018

Senator Peter Whish-Wilson 2024

Senator Peter Whish-Wilson
Senator for Tasmania
Australian Greens
Appointed February 2021

Mr Paul Erickson 2024

Mr Paul Erickson
National Secretary
Australian Labor Party
Appointed August 2019

Mr Andrew Hirst 2024

Mr Andrew Hirst
Federal Director
Liberal Party of Australia
Appointed June 2017

For further information go to the page on Past Chairs and Council Members.